καλημέρα! (This is Greek for “good afternoon” and is pronounced: “kalimera”)

Most of you are probably wondering why I started this post off with a Greek word, right? Well, I spent my last semester abroad and I want to encourage all of my readers to do the same. I know there was a study abroad information session yesterday in Olmsted, and if you didn’t go shame on you!

Just kidding, if you didn’t go there are other ways to get the information you need to spend a semester, a year, or however long you want to spend experiencing another culture.

Jen Hogan, in the international studies office at Drake, is a godsend. She and the other members of the staff there will make sure that you get all the information and help that you need to study abroad. It’s also helpful to talk to a person that’s visited the place you wish to go. Drake students are usually super friendly and always willing to help. I know if somebody asked me about Greece, I’d try to answer all their questions and get them excited to go.

One other avenue is DUIT (Drake University International Travel). This is a group on campus that is dedicated to sharing study aboard stories and they welcome anyone to their meetings.

Happy Hump Day!

PS- Don’t forget the home Drake football game on Saturday at six o’clock! Look for me in the media booth!